Skip Navigation Links.


31st Mitsui Finance Symposium: Banking
June 25 -27, 2020


Mitsui Life Financial Research Center is organizing the 31st Mitsui Finance Symposium: Banking, to be held June 25-27, 2020, at the Ross School of Business, the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

As banking encompasses a broad spectrum of issues, we invite paper submissions only on the following TOPICS:

  • Bank credit supply and real economy
  • Bank regulation and supervision
  • Stress tests
  • Risk management in banks
  • Innovation and the rise of FinTech intermediaries
  • Governance of Banks


Best Discussant Awards: Each paper will be assigned to a discussant. Two awards will be given out for best discussion ($2500 each). Awards are based on anonymous votes of the participants at the end of the final session and will be announced at lunch on Saturday.


Full Participation: As we highly value active audience participation, all participants are expected to stay during the entire conference. This has been the norm at past Mitsui symposiums and is encouraged again this year. The symposium begins with a reception on Thursday evening, June 25 and ends with lunch on Saturday, June 27, 2020.


Paper Submissions: Electronic submissions of unpublished papers (PDF format) can be made via the conference website The deadline for submissions is January 20, 2020, and authors of accepted papers will be notified by March 31, 2020. Each paper should contain an abstract and provide author affiliations and contact information. Travel (economy class up to $1,000) and accommodations will be paid for speakers, discussants, and invited faculty and students. Questions can be addressed to the Mitsui Center Administrator, Svetlana Toder, at


Program Committee:

External: Heitor Almeida (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Effi Benmelech (Northwestern Kellogg), Laura Blattner (Stanford GSB), Elena Carletti (Bocconi), Marco Di Maggio (Harvard Business School), Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics), Itay Goldstein (Wharton), Florian Heider (European Central Bank), Rustom Irani (University of Illinois Urbana Champaign), Rajkamal Iyer (Imperial), Stefan Lewellen (Penn State), Yiming Ma (Columbia GSB), Martin Oehmke (London School of Economics), Steven Ongena (University of Zurich), Cecilia Parlatore (NYU Stern), Christine Parlour (Berkley Haas), José-Luis Peydró (Imperial), Giorgia Piacentino (Columbia GSB), Matthew Plosser (New York Fed), Rodney Ramcharan (USC Marshall), Vikrant Vig (London Business School), Guillaume Vuillemey (HEC Paris), Emily Williams (Harvard Business School)


Internal: Sugato Bhattacharyya, Matteo Crosignani, E. Han Kim, Amiyatosh Purnanandam


My iMpact Search/Sitemap Accessibility Features Privacy Statement University of Michigan - HOME
2020 Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan.