Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library

Ross School Honors Faculty

4/9/2007 --

Fourteen cited for research, teaching and service.

ANN ARBOR, Mich.—Eight faculty members at the Ross School of Business were honored recently for research, teaching and service, and six more will receive teaching excellence awards at commencement events later this month.

James Westphal, the Robert G. Rodkey Collegiate Professor of Business Administration and professor of strategy, was named Researcher of the Year. The award recognizes the substantial research contribution and scholarly significance of related publications during a three-year period. Westphal conducts research in the areas of strategic management and organizational theory, with an emphasis on social and psychological processes in corporate governance and strategic decision-making.

Aradhna Krishna, the Isadore and Leon Winkelman Professor of Retail Marketing, received the Senior Faculty Research Award for "exceptional and continuing contributions to scholarly research and noteworthy contributions to building and maintaining a strong research environment in the school." Her research centers on consumer and trade promotions, behavioral pricing issues, managerial promotion policies, and individual consumer perceptions and behavioral responses to visual stimuli.

Aneel Karnani, associate professor of strategy, was honored with the Victor L. Bernard Teaching Leadership Award. Established in 1994 in memory of Professor Bernard, the award recognizes teaching, work with Ph.D. students and colleagues, and course design. His teaching and research focus on how firms succeed by leveraging existing competitive advantages and creating new ones to achieve rapid growth, and on global competition, particularly in the context of emerging economies.

Michael Jensen, assistant professor of strategy, was named the Bank One Corporation Assistant Professor in Business Administration, a one-year appointment that recognizes promising junior faculty whose excellence in scholarly research suggests significant contributions to the understanding of the field of business. Jensen conducts research on the role of social structures in market competition, including the role of identity and status in the creation of markets for illegitimate products, partner choices in stratified markets and discrimination in market entry.

Haitao Li, assistant professor of finance, was selected as the Sanford R. Robertson Assistant Professor in Business Administration, a one-year named professorship that recognizes early career development and excellence in scholarly research. Li's research interests lie in theoretical and empirical asset pricing, term structure of interest rates, hedge funds and financial econometrics.

Valerie Suslow, associate professor of business economics and public policy, was named the Louis & Myrtle Moskowitz Research Professor of Business Law for "excellence in scholarly research that promises to make significant contributions to foster understanding in the fields of business and law." Suslow, who was recently appointed associate dean for degree programs effective July 1, conducts research on international cartels and on the design of competition policies relating to price fixing and the interaction between trade policy and competition policy.

James Reece, professor of accounting and professor of operations and management science, and Thomas Schriber, professor business information technology, received the Andy Andrews Distinguished Faculty Service Award. The award was created in memory of Richard (Andy) Andrews, associate professor of statistics, who died in 2002.

In addition, six faculty members will be honored with Teaching Excellence awards given by students at individual degree commencement ceremonies. They are:

Damian Beil, assistant professor of operations and management science (BBA award)

Uday Rajan, associate professor of finance (MBA award)

Gerald Davis, Wilbur K. Pierpont Collegiate Professor of Management and professor of management and organizations (Ph.D. award)

Thomas Kinnear, Eugene Applebaum Professor of Entrepreneurial Studies, professor of marketing, and director of the Samuel Zell and Robert H. Lurie Institute for Entrepreneurial Studies (Executive MBA award)

E. Han Kim, Fred M. Taylor Professor of Business Administration, professor of finance and international business, and director of the Mitsui Life Financial Research Center and East Asia Management Development Center (Global MBA award)

George Siedel, Williamson Family Professor of Business Administration and Thurnau Professor of Business Law (MAcc award)

For more information, contact:
Bernie DeGroat
Phone: (734) 936-1015 or 647-1847