Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library

One Department's Success: PhD Accomplishments and Awards

5/1/2006 --

Doctoral students in Management and Organizations reap rewards by practicing what they research and teach.

ANN ARBOR, Mich.—2005 proved to be a banner year for PhD students in Management and Organizations (M&O) at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan. Jane Dutton, chair and professor of Management and Organizations, says it is "a magical time in the department, with students winning prizes left and right." She attributes their success to the culture the students have created, one that encourages growth for both individuals and the collective whole.

The M&O department studies organization behavior, organization theory and the intersection of these two fields in shaping individual and group behavior. The department's research mission is to collaborate across boundaries in order to understand organizational processes.

The following is a partial list of Ross School of Business awards and scholarships given to M&O PhD students in 2005-2006, with more anticipated in the coming months.

  • Rackham School of Graduate Studies Predoctoral Award, 2006-2007: Scott Sonenshein and Ruth Blatt.

    The Rackham Predoctoral is among the most prestigious awards given out by the U-M graduate school. It is highly unusual for two students from one department to win in a single year.

    Blatt also won a grant from the Ross School of Business Zell Lurie Institute for more than $7,000 for her research on entrepreneurs.
  • Gerald O. Dykstra Award, 2006-2007: Eric Neuman.

    The Dykstra Award, named after an accomplished and popular former business law professor at the U-M, is given to a doctoral student in recognition of teaching excellence.

    Neuman also won the U-M Rackham School of Graduate Studies Van Weelden Fellowship in 2005 and authored a paper named one of the Academy of Management Best Paper Proceedings in 2005.
  • Thomas W. Leabo Memorial Scholarship, 2005: Marlys Christianson.

    The Leabo scholarship is awarded to a PhD student who has achieved high academic standing and demonstrated commitment to the teaching profession.

    Christianson also received a Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Foundation grant for an Emergency Department study at the U-M Health System and is president of the PhD Forum, the doctoral student government at the Ross School.
  • Gladys D. and Walter R. Stark Graduate Scholarship, 2005: Scott Sonenshein.

    The Stark scholarship is granted for academic excellence and is intended to attract and educate the nation's most exceptional MBA and PhD students, regardless of financial situation.
  • James and Ruth Close Scholarship, 2005: Arran Caza

    The Close scholarship, endowed by James Close, PhD '45, is awarded to a deserving student in the BBA, MBA, or PhD program.
  • Gilbert and Ruth Whitaker Fellowship, 2006: Melissa Wooten.

    Gilbert Whitaker was dean of the business school from 1979 to 1990. The Whitaker fellowship is awarded to a doctoral student who has demonstrated high academic achievement with special consideration for financial need and members of underrepresented student populations.

    Wooten also won the Academy of Management - Organization and Management Theory Division's Best Symposium Award in 2004 and 2005.

The work of M&O PhD students also was recognized outside the Ross School, including Emily Heaphy, who received a U-M Center for the Education of Women Fellowship for 2006-2007.

Ross School PhD students in Management and Organizations, with faculty support, will present symposiums at the Academy of Management Annual Meeting in August. Symposium topics include resilience, organizational change, high quality connections, emotion regulation and research in news organizations.

For more information, contact:
Adrienne Losh
Phone: (734) 615-5068