Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library
Margarethe Wiersema
  Margarethe Wiersema

17 Will Be Honored at Doctoral Recognition Ceremony on April 25

4/21/2006 --

Margarethe Wiersema to receive Distinguished PhD Alumni Award.

ANN ARBOR, Mich.—Seventeen doctoral candidates will be honored at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business' Seventh Annual Doctoral Recognition Ceremony at 11 a.m. on April 25 in Hale Auditorium.

The Doctoral Recognition Ceremony, which is open to the public, will recognize and congratulate doctoral candidates who will defend or have defended their dissertation in 2006. Honorees are: Carol Anilowski (Accounting), Julian Atanassov (Finance), Craig Brown (Finance), Judson Caskey (Accounting), Hyejeung Cho (Marketing), Kurtis DeMaagd (Business Information Technology), Weili Ge (Accounting), Radhakrishnan Gopalan (Finance), Frederick Lehmann (Business Economics and Public Policy), Qin Lei (Finance), Maria Mayorga (Operations and Management Science), Ning Nan (Business Information Technology), Francisco Polidoro, Jr. (Strategy), Narayan Ramasubbu (Business Information Technology), Sophie Shive (Finance), Ling Wang (Operations and Management Science) and Melissa Wooten (Management and Organizations).

Margarethe Wiersema, professor of strategic management at The Paul Merage School of Business at the University of California, Irvine, will give the keynote speech. Wiersema, who earned an MBA in 1977 and PhD in 1985 from the Ross School, will be presented the Distinguished PhD Alumni Award. She is an international fellow of the Advanced Institute of Management Research and won the 2002 Excellence in Teaching Award at UC, Irvine.

Janet A. Weiss, the Mary C. Bromage Collegiate Professor of Organizational Behavior and Public Policy at the Ross School and dean of the U-M's Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies and Vice Provost for Academic Affairs-Graduate Studies, also will address the doctoral candidates and guests.

The Ross School's 2006 PhD Teaching Excellence Award will be presented to Jane E. Dutton, the William Russell Kelly Professor of Business Administration and chair and professor of management and organizations.

For more information, contact:
Mary Jo Frank
Phone: 734-647-4626