Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library

Students Honor Top Teachers

4/20/2006 --

Five Ross School faculty tapped for Teaching Excellence Awards.

ANN ARBOR, Mich.—Five faculty members will be honored for teaching excellence by Stephen M. Ross School of Business students at end-of-school-year celebrations.

Jane E. Dutton, the William Russell Kelly Professor of Business Administration, chair and professor of management and organizations and professor of psychology, will be presented the PhD Teaching Excellence award at the PhD Recognition Ceremony at 11 a.m. April 25 in Hale Auditorium. Dutton, co-founder of the Center for Positive Organizational Scholarship, studies how organizations foster compassion, high-quality connections in the workplace, and how people craft positive work identities. She received the Ross School's Researcher of the Year Award in 2003, Contributions to the Research Environment Award in 2002 and Senior Scholar Award in 2001.

Hyun-Soo Ahn, assistant professor of operations and management science, will receive the BBA Teaching Excellence Award at the BBA Celebration at 4 p.m. April 25 in Hale. His research interests include modeling and analysis of production and service systems, supply chains, workforce agility, dynamic pricing and revenue management. He also was named the Sanford R. Robertson Assistant Professor of Business Administration. The one-year named professorship recognizes early career development and excellence in scholarly research.

Gautam Kaul, the John C. and Sally S. Morley Professor of Finance, will be honored by MBA students at the MBA Celebration at 4 p.m. April 26 in Hale. Kaul, who teaches in the Ross School's undergraduate, MBA, Global MBA, PhD and Executive Education programs, has been nominated for the MBA Teaching Excellence Award five times. He won the MBA award in 1996 and the Global MBA Teaching Excellence Award in 2003. He also received the Senior Faculty Research Award in 2003 for sustained, exceptional and continuing contributions to scholarly research in the field of business.

M. P. Narayanan, chair and professor of finance, will be presented the Executive MBA Teaching Excellence Award at a special dinner for graduating Executive MBAs on April 27 at the Michigan League. Narayanan teaches corporate finance courses in the MBA and Executive MBA programs. He received the 1992 Student Award for Teaching Excellence, 1998 MBA Student Award for Teaching Excellence, 2003 Executive MBA Award for Teaching Excellence and the Victor L. Bernard Teaching Leadership Award. His primary research interests are related to corporate finance, including capital structure, merger and divestitures, managerial incentives and executive compensation, and corporate governance.

Students will present James M. DeSimpelare, lecturer of accounting, the Master of Accounting Teaching Excellence award at a luncheon on June 14. This is the third time DeSimpelare has been honored for teaching excellence by MAcc students. He also received the BBA Teaching Excellence Award in 1999. DeSimpelare teaches advanced financial accounting, as well as other financial accounting and tax accounting classes at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

For more information, contact:
Mary Jo Frank
Phone: (734) 647-4626