Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library

Ross School Honors Faculty

4/12/2006 --

Six cited for research, teaching and service.

ANN ARBOR, Mich.—Six faculty members were honored for research, teaching and service at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business faculty awards ceremony April 5.

Kathleen M. Sutcliffe, professor of management and organizations, was named Researcher of the Year. The award recognizes the substantial research contribution and scholarly significance of related publications during a three-year period. Sutcliffe, who will become associate dean for faculty development and research on July 1, joined the Ross School faculty in 1994. She previously taught at the University of Minnesota Carlson School of Management.

Sutcliffe has published a number of papers in academic journals, articles related to practice, and numerous chapters and monographs during the past three years, noted Dean Robert J. Dolan, who presented the awards. "The quality of Professor Sutcliffe's work has had a national impact. She is as highly regarded nationally as she is locally, as is apparent from the list of conferences where she is invited to present."

Sutcliffe is senior editor of Organization Studies, a past chair of the Managerial and Organizational Cognition Division of the Academy of Management and has chaired the Ross School's Doctoral Studies Committee.

Cindy A. Schipani, professor of business law and chair of Law, History and Communication, received the Contribution to the Research Environment Award (CORE), which Dolan described as "a classically Michigan award for a person who has served as an incredible role model for colleagues and students."

Schipani, who joined the Ross School faculty in 1986, researches in the area of corporate governance. Her recent research includes the book "The Role of Business in Fostering Peaceful Societies" (with Tim Fort, Cambridge University Press), an interdisciplinary initiative on the pathways for women to obtain positions of organizational leadership, as well as publications on fiduciary obligations of corporate directors. She has won numerous national awards for her research.

Susan J. Ashford, the Michael and Susan Jandernoa Professor of Business Administration and professor of management and organizations, received the Andy Andrews Distinguished Faculty Service Award. The award was created in memory of Richard W. (Andy) Andrews, associate professor of statistics, who died on May 29, 2002. Ashford, who joined the Ross faculty in 1991, has served as associate dean and senior associate dean for academic affairs. She is academic director of the Executive MBA Program and a Fellow of the Academy of Management.

David Hess, assistant professor of business law, was named the Bank One Corporation Assistant Professor of Business Administration. The one-year appointment recognizes promising non-tenured faculty whose excellence in scholarly research promises to make a significant contribution to the understanding of the field of business. Hess, who joined the Ross faculty in 2003, conducts research in the area of organizational governance, specifically public pension funds. He also focuses on corporate social responsibility, primarily on "new governance" modes of regulation, including corporate social reporting.

Hyun-Soo Ahn, PhD '01, assistant professor of operations and management science, was named the Sanford R. Robertson Assistant Professor of Business Administration. The one-year named professorship recognizes early career development and excellence in scholarly research. Hyun-Soo, who develops and analyzes mathematical models related to supply chain management, dynamic pricing and revenue management, workforce agility and resource allocation, also was selected by students to receive the 2006 BBA Teaching Excellence Award. He taught at the University of California at Berkeley before joining the Ross faculty in 2003.

William S. Lovejoy, the Raymond T. Perring Family Professor of Business and professor of operations and management science, received the Victor L. Bernard Teaching Leadership Award. Established in 1994 in memory of Professor Victor Bernard, the award recognizes teaching, work with PhD students and colleagues, and course design. "This award recognizes contributions across the board," explained Dolan, who noted that Lovejoy's Integrated Product Development class, where students take an idea from drawing board to marketplace in 12 weeks, is one of the Ross School's most innovative and popular courses. Lovejoy joined the Ross faculty in 1994 after teaching at the Stanford University Graduate School of Business.

Other Ross School teaching awards will be presented later this month.

For more information, contact:
Mary Jo Frank
Phone: 734-647-4626