Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library
Elizabeth Andrews and Andy Lawlor

Awards Recognize Research, Teaching and Service

5/8/2003 --

Thirteen faculty members were honored for research, teaching and service at the Business School's May 2 faculty awards ceremony.

Andrew Lawlor, director of the Global MBA projects at the Business School and the William Davidson Institute, was named the first recipient of the Andy Andrews Distinguished Faculty Service Award. The award was created in memory of Richard W. (Andy) Andrews, associate professor of statistics, who died on May 29, 2002. Elizabeth Andrews was present for the inaugural presentation of the award in her husband's honor.

In presenting the award, Dean Robert J. Dolan noted that Lawlor, a lecturer in Corporate Strategy and International Business for 20 years, has led Global MBA projects since 1994. Lawlor also manages the International Multidisciplinary Action Projects and teaches MBA entrepreneurship courses.

“Andy is an outstanding example of inexhaustible dedication to our programs, combined with that engaging human touch with students and business leaders that was so evident in his friend and colleague, Andy Andrews,” Dolan said.

Other faculty members honored:

  • George D. Cameron, professor of business law, received the Victor L. Bernard Teaching Leadership Award, which recognizes teaching, work with students and colleagues, and course design. Dolan noted Cameron’s outstanding contributions to the business law curriculum for BBA and MBA students, his service, and the many teaching awards he won. One of his courses was recognized as the University’s outstanding undergraduate course in 1998.
  • Reuven Lehavy, assistant professor of accounting, was named the Bank One Corporation Assistant Professor in Business Administration. The one-year appointment recognizes promising non-tenured faculty. “His research is having a significant impact on our understanding of the role of analysts’ forecasts in the determination of stock prices and returns,” Dolan said.
  • Jeffrey Sanchez-Burks, assistant professor of organizational behavior and human resource management, was named the Sanford R. Robertson Assistant Professor of Business Administration. The one-year named professorship recognizes early career achievement. Dolan said of Sanchez-Burks: “He is highly ambitious in his research agenda and is making substantial contributions to understanding cross-cultural differences in management, which is highly relevant to the practice of global and multicultural management.”
  • Gerald Davis, professor of organizational behavior and human resource management, was named the Sparks Whirlpool Corporation Research Professor, established in honor of Jack D. Sparks, former chairman, president and CEO of Whirlpool Corporation. Davis has provided intellectual leadership in research focusing on how social and political structures are transforming large American corporations, Dolan noted.
  • Eugene A. Imhoff, the Ernst & Young Professor of Accounting, was presented the Contribution to the Research Environment Award for his contributions to the school’s research environment. Dolan credited Imhoff for being the “driving force behind establishing the Business School accounting area as one of the outstanding groups in this country.”
  • Jane E. Dutton, the William Russell Kelly Professor of Business Administration, received the Researcher of the Year Award for research contributions made in the last three years and the scholarly significance of her publications. Dutton helped pioneer Positive Organization Scholarship, a new approach to understanding exceptional performance in organizations. “Professor Dutton exemplifies something we would like to see in all senior faculty members: a passion for research that does not dim with time, but continues to inspire colleagues and students alike,” Dolan said.
  • Gautam Kaul, the John C. and Sally S. Morley Professor of Finance, received the Senior Faculty Research Award for “sustained exceptional and continuing contributions to scholarly research in the field of business and noteworthy contributions to building and maintaining a strong research environment in the school.” He is a leading researcher in finance, particularly in asset pricing.

Also recognized were James R. Taylor, professor of marketing, who was granted emeritus status by the University of Michigan Regents; and winners of teaching awards, which were voted by students and presented at commencement:

  • Anjan Thakor, the Edward J. Frey Professor of Banking and Finance and professor of finance (PhD award)
  • Izak Duenyas, associate dean for faculty development, the John Psarouthakis Professor of Manufacturing Management and professor of operations management (Executive MBA award)
  • Gautam Ahuja, the Michael R. and Mary Kay Hallman Fellow and co-chair and associate professor of corporate strategy and international business (MBA award)
  • Michael Jensen, assistant professor of corporate strategy and international business (BBA award)

For more information, contact:
Mary Jo Frank
Phone: 734.647.4626