Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library

Michigan Business School Recognizes Outstanding Faculty

5/12/2004 --

12 honored for research, teaching and service.

ANN ARBOR, Mich. – Twelve faculty members were honored for research, teaching and service at the Business School's May 5 faculty awards ceremony.

Gautam Ahuja, PhD '96, the Michael R. and Mary Kay Hallman Fellow and associate professor of corporate strategy and international business, achieved the unusual distinction of winning two Teaching Excellence Awards in one year, from doctoral students and MBA students. Roman Kapuscinski, assistant professor of operations and management science, was selected by students to receive the BBA Teaching Excellence Award.

Ahuja and Kapuscinski received standing ovations at spring commencement. "Life can't get any better than this from a teaching perspective," said Ahuja, who shared two questions his mother taught him to consider: Did I do the right thing? Did I do it the best of my ability? "They are the only exam questions worth asking in life," Ahuja said.

Michael Phillips, vice president of BBA affairs for the Student Government Association, who presented the BBA award, praised Kapuscinski for his meticulous preparation for class and dedication, including getting to know students on a first-name basis.

Also honored for teaching were:

  • M. P. Narayanan, professor of finance (Executive MBA award)
  • Gautam Kaul, the John C. and Sally S. Morley Professor of Finance (Global MBA award)

Other faculty members honored:

  • Michel Wedel, the Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing, received the Senior Faculty Research Award for research contributions made in the last three years and the scholarly significance of his publications. Wedel's research interests include the application of statistical and econometric methods to marketing problems and the design of the visual aspects of advertising that lead to greater attention and effectiveness.
  • Valerie Suslow, associate professor of business economics and public policy, received the Victor L. Bernard Teaching Leadership Award, which recognizes teaching, work with students and colleagues, and course design. "Valerie's ongoing commitment to students, support of others in development of teaching skills, her development of key teaching materials and her own performance make her the perfect recipient of this award," wrote colleagues who nominated Suslow.
  • Fred Feinberg, the Michael R. and Mary Kay Hallman Fellow and associate professor of marketing, was named the Bank One Corporation Assistant Professor of Business Administration. The one-year appointment recognizes promising non-tenured faculty. Feinberg was cited for his excellent research record, including 16 papers under review.
  • Venky Nagar, assistant professor of accounting, was named the Sanford R. Robertson Assistant Professor of Business Administration. The one-year named professorship recognizes early career achievement. Nagar was recognized for his outstanding research productivity and publication record.
  • E. Han Kim, the Fred M. Taylor Professor of Business Administration, director of the Mitsui Life Financial Research Center and East Asia Management and professor of finance and international business, received the Contribution to the Research Environment Award for his contributions to the school's research environment. Kim was cited for his support for research activities and new projects in the finance area, efforts to promote the research activities of junior faculty members and his leadership of the Mitsui Life Financial Research Center.

Also recognized were George D. Cameron, professor of business law, and Michael Ryan, professor of marketing, who are retiring from the University.

Thomas C. Kinnear, the Eugene Applebaum Professor of Entrepreneurial Studies, professor of marketing and director of the Samuel Zell and Robert H. Lurie Institute for Entrepreneurial Studies, received the Andy Andrews Distinguished Faculty Service Award. The award was created in memory of Richard W. (Andy) Andrews, associate professor of statistics, who died on May 29, 2002. Kinnear, who also has served on the Business School Executive Committee and as chair of the marketing area, said, "The school has given me far more than I've given to it. I am doubly honored to receive the award named in honor of my friend, Andy Andrews."

For more information, contact:
Mary Jo Frank
Phone: 734.647.4626