Link My iMpact  
Link Strategic Positioning Tool Kit  
To Executive Education
To Kresge Library
David Hess
  David Hess

Ross Professor Wins Prestigious Rising Star Award

11/6/2008 --

The Aspen Institute names Business Law Professor David Hess a Faculty Pioneer.

ANN ARBOR, Mich.—He may not be an actor, but Professor David Hess of the Ross School of Business has won an Oscar. Well, sort of.

Read a Q&A with Hess.

Hess, an assistant professor of business law and business ethics, has been named the Rising Star Faculty Pioneer, one of the MBA faculty awards that the Financial Times has dubbed the "Oscars of the business school world." The Faculty Pioneer Awards, given annually by the Aspen Institute Center for Business Education, recognize exceptional MBA professors from around the world who are leaders in integrating social, environmental, and ethical issues into their teaching and research.

Hess' research focuses on controlling corruption in international business, the role of law in ensuring corporate accountability and approaches that enable corporations to go beyond legal compliance to meet the expectations of society with respect to ethical behavior and sustainable economic development. His publications in this area analyze the proper structuring of sustainability reports to increase stakeholder influence and improve organizational learning.

"Corruption is such a harmful but enduring practice," Hess said. "Some people have stated that it's a paradox in that corruption is universally disapproved yet universally practiced. It's also important to remember that corruption in developing countries is harmful not to just economic development, but also to the realization of human rights and the attainment of sustainable development."

Hess is one of eight MBA faculty worldwide who received Faculty Pioneer Awards. Others included David Baron of Stanford University (Lifetime Achievement), Pratima Bansal of the University of Western Ontario (Academic Leadership), Simon Ho of Hong Kong Baptist University (External Impact), Nicole Woolsey Biggart of the University of California, Davis (Institutional Impact), James Austin of Harvard University (Social Entrepreneurship), Antonio Argandona of the University of Navarra (European Lifetime Achievement), and Wendy Chapple of Nottingham University (European Rising Star).

Nominations for the awards are open to faculty at any institution offering a graduate management degree. Candidates are nominated by their academic peers and winners are chosen by a panel of corporate judges. In addition to recognition by the Aspen Institute and their peers and schools, Faculty Pioneers receive an honorarium.

For more information on the Faculty Pioneer Awards and on this year’s award winners, click here.

For more information, contact:
Bernie DeGroat, (734) 936-1015 or 647-1847,