AMERICAN BUSINESS LAW ASSOCIATION

MINUTES OF THE 1956 ANNUAL MEETING

The thirty-third annual meeting of the American Business Law Association was convened at 8:00 p.m., August 28, 1956, at Syracuse University's Pinebrook Lodge near Saranac Lake, New York. Forty-three members and approximately thirty-five guests were present; all enjoyed the recreational facilities of Pinebrook Lodge and the gracious hospitality of our hosts, Professor and Mrs. Edward A. Smith and Professor and Mrs. William Zelermyer of Syracuse University, and President and Mrs. Milton B. Dickerson.

The printed program of the meeting, a copy of which has been placed in the permanent records of the Association, was followed with only slight modification. Professors J. Sydney Cook and Murray M. Rohman were unable to attend, and their places on the program were vacated. In addition to messages of regret from these members, a letter from the immediate past President, Joseph L. Frascona of the University of Colorado, explaining that summer duties at the University of Miami prevented his attendance, was read to the members.

The business meeting was brief. The minutes of the 1955 meeting were approved, and the amendment to the Constitution moved by the Committee on Constitutional Revision, which under the able leadership of John A. Zvetina had carefully studied the Association's basic charter during the year 1955-56, were unanimously adopted. The members voted their warm thanks to our hosts, and instructed the Secretary to express the Association's gratitude to Dr. William Melchior and Mr. and Mrs. Darling of Pinebrook Lodge and Chancellor William P. Tolley of Syracuse University. Letters of thanks to President Henry C. Schmitz of the University of Washington and Dean Austin Grimshaw of the College of Business Administration of the University of Washington, who were responsible for the institution's support of the first issue of the Bulletin of the American Business Association, and absorption of many of the expenses of the Secretary-Treasurer's office, also were approved. The editors of the Bulletin, William Zelermyer and Cornelius W. Gillam, explained their editorial policies and future plans. Appropriate letters to the survivors of Louis O. Bergh and Robert L. Patrick who died during the year, were directed to be sent, and obituaries for the Bulletin were assigned to A. Lincoln Lavine and Paul C. Roberts (for Bergh and Patrick respectively). The Executive Committee again was instructed to decide the time and place of, and make the necessary arrangements for the 1957 meeting. The nominating committee, consisting of Essel R. Dillavou. Sheldon C. Tanner and Edward A. Smith, nominated the following officers for 1956-57: Secretary-Treasurer, Robert E. Kendrick; Vice-President, Cornelius W. Gillam; President, Wesley C. Harter; Honorary President, Otto W. Hedges. The nominees were elected

unanimously, with a rising vote of honor accorded to Professor Hedges.

The 1956 meeting was adjourned at noon on August 30th, with the members' assurances that it was one of the most successful, and certainly the most enjoyable, in setting, of the Association's meetings.

Respectfully submitted,

Cornelius W. Gillam (Retiring) Secretary-Treasurer